Bruisin’ Tedeschi #6

Bruisin

Name: Bruisin’ Tedeschi

Nickname: Bruisin

What’s the origin of your name? I’ve been singing since I can remember. One of my favorite singer/guitarist is Susan Tedeschi, whose husband also happens to be a musician like mine.

Number: 6

What does your number mean? The normal number of strings on a guitar

Team: Natural Disasters

What position do you play? I play wherever I can. I do like to jam though.

How long have you been skating? I had roller blades when I was about 12 but never really skated other than birthday parties growing up. We didn’t have a rink near us. My first fresh meat was my first time on speed skates. I didn’t even know there was a difference.

When did you join derby? August 2012

How did you get involved in derby? My husband helped shoot video for NWARD about 6 years ago. I had just had a baby but I knew it was for me. Six years later life finally opened up enough for me to go to fresh meat. I’ve been hooked ever since.

Signature move: Not yet

Per bout ritual: After only 2 bouts I don’t have much of one yet.

Derby heroes: Way too many to list.

What makes you have instant respect for a derby skater? Being awesome…that can be because of many different reasons from skill to attitude.

What do you do outside of derby? I’m recently a stay at home mom.

Favorite derby moment so far? First time I got to jam in a bout…all I knew was coach told me that if he ever let me jam I couldn’t stop…when the jam was over everyone was all excited  saying good job and I was like what happened? what did I do? I didn’t even realize I had scored points!

Favorite derby teams? San Diego Derby Dolls, Denali Destroyer Dolls,

If you could remove one penalty from the game what would it be? Back blocking…I’m bad about it.

What advice would you like to give up and coming derby players? Keep trying to get better

Derby awards? Hahaha…one day maybe

Where are you from? Berryville, AR

How long have you lived here? About 11years

Family? My husband and I will have been married 10 years this September. We have two children. A boy age 6 and a girl age 1. If it wasn’t for my husband’s support and help with the kids on practice nights I wouldn’t be able to do this.